Jazz and Cocktail Piano

I'm no longer playing in the United States

For pianist recommendations, contact Ed Fuqua:

718-672-4554. Ed_fuqua@yahoo.com.


Reviews

Here's what some of my clients have written to me.
Want to add your Review? EMAIL me with your comments

A real touch of class

Jerry did a beautiful job for us. He was very flexible in agreeing to accompany some of our family members in song before he knew they could actually sing! He was unobtrusive when people were involved in conversation and seemed to know when they were ready to really listen. In short, he was everything we had hoped for and gave our New York night for friends and family a real touch of class!

Geri Tebo
Rehearsal dinner, Opia Restaurant, NYC, 03/21/08

The music was sensational

I wanted to take the time to thank you personally for all of your help in making our event a success. The music was sensational and your warm personality helped enhance the mood of the evening. I appreciated your punctuality and professionalism.

I also enjoyed our light conversation during dinner. It was an extreme pleasure to work with you and hopefully we will be able to use your services for future events.

Yashica Carrington
Executive Assistant to Chief Operating Officer
Board Appreciation Night, Parkchester Preservation Company LP, Bronx, NY, 10/23/07

Outstanding playing

Thank you for the outstanding playing at my private event. Your ability to keep a pulse on the room and play your music accordingly was perfect. Everyone enjoyed the volume and pace of the music and you truly added a touch of class that would have gone missing without your presence.

Also, I really appreciate your uncompromising professionalism, and your arriving on time for each of the three days. In today’s world, that is a rarity indeed. I would not hesitate to recommend you to anyone and if ever an endorsement is needed, please give my name out freely.

Frank Pollaro
President & CEO
Corporate Event, Pollaro Custom Furniture, Inc., Carlyle Hotel, 10/03–10/05/07

Most wonderful music

I just wanted to thank you guys [Jerry and sax player Dan Greenblatt] for the most wonderful music on Sunday. You really added so much to the feeling and warmth of our simcha. We will recommend you any time we can.

Thanks again,
Donna and David Sultanik
Wedding ceremony and reception, Fort Lee, NJ, 08/12/07

Great person, great pianist

You are such a great person, great pianist, and you truly deserved the best! The humble tip that we shared was meant to show our sincere appreciation for your job well done! All my guests were so pleased and have such a high level of admiration of your lovely personality (very professional!) — guess what? That was one of the reasons (among the many) why we picked you. Your great performance along with your high level of professionalism have brought some essence to our reception.

Glad you enjoyed the food at Sparks. Hope you didn't limit yourself and had enough to eat. Once again, our sincere and utmost thanks.

Mary and Bob Sellers
Wedding dinner, Sparks Steak House, New York, NY, 06/08/07

Amazing pianist

Worry free, professional, experienced performer! We hired Jerry and a bass player for a corporate reception. He was wonderful to work with and an amazing pianist!

Emily Pawlikowsi
Networking event, Hodgson Russ LLP, New York, NY, 5/17/07

Superb musicianship

Thanks so much for your repeat performance at this year’s holiday party! Each time I looked over at the piano, you were surrounded by a cluster of eager guests — giving you requests (which you so graciously accommodated), singing along, or simply listening raptly to your incomparable playing.

In addition to your superb musicianship, you are a true professional: prompt, courteous, and easy to work with. Thanks again for helping to make our party so festive!

Beth Hoffman
Holiday parties, Foundation for Economic Education, Irvington-on-Hudson, NY, 12/09/06

We loved everything you played

It was a wonderful night made even more fabulous by you. You were very sensitive to what was going on during the event and gauged the tone perfectly throughout the evening. We appreciated your flexibility with regards to timing and last minute changes and your professionalism from start to finish.

The night would not have been complete without you and we loved absolutely everything you played! Thanks again and please do feel free to use us as references/testimonials.

Matthew Flowers and Emily Bishop
Wedding, Daniel Restaurant, New York City, 09/23/06

Great pianist, very professional

I hired Jerry to perform at my engagement party and I absolutely loved him. He is a great pianist, very professional and has a very pleasant personality. He added the perfect touch to my party. I highly recommend him!

Nicole Pietropinto
Engagement Party, Marina Cafe, Staten Island, NY, 04/23/06

Great series of songs

David and I would like to thank you for doing such an excellent job at our holiday party last week. We certainly appreciate your hard work: 4 hours of playing straight with only a moment to wolf down some food! Everyone greatly enjoyed the party and your playing was an integral part of the overall experience.

You picked a great series of songs and even got people to get up and sing on their own. That is an accomplishment! We will certainly keep you in mind for our other needs in the future.

Best regards
Stephen Limpe, Petro-Chem Development Company, Inc.
Holiday Party, Stella del Mare, New York City, 12/14/05

A perfect blend of upbeat and slow jazz

Our wedding would not have been the perfect day it was without Jerry and his talent. From our very first correspondence Jerry was extremely professional, flexible, considerate and attentive. Jerry's music was gorgeous; he played beautifully and set the exact mood we were trying to create for our reception. The selection of tunes (which we left entirely up to him) was a perfect blend of up-beat and slow jazz pieces, with seamless transitions in between.

Our guests (a couple of whom are professional musicians) were extremely impressed with the quality of musicianship and praised our choice of pianist. Jerry, thank you so much for making our special day perfect. Jerry, please feel free to give my name and email address to anyone for a recommendation (it would be my pleasure).

Liliana and William Wallcraft
Wedding Reception, Alger House, New York City, 11/19/05

A true pleasure to deal with

We just got back from the honeymoon last night. It was as perfect as the wedding and our brunch! Of course, you had a lot to do with the success of the latter. Jerry, we couldn't have been happier with your contribution to our special day. Not only your outstanding playing — but also your total professionalism and warm personality. You were a true pleasure to deal with at ever step of the process.

PLEASE feel free to share my comments with your site visitors, and my email address with anyone looking for a personal recommendation. As for our collaboration, like you, I enjoyed it thoroughly. To be honest, I was surprised it went as smoothly as it did — without even so much as a "1,2,3,4" to establish a tempo. You're a real pro and a joy to perform with. Thanks a million! Of course, if we or anyone we know is looking for a great pianist, I'll know where to turn.

Thanks again for everything!
Keith and Vivian Harmeyer
Wedding Bruch, Astoria, NY, 11/05/05

You sounded beautiful

Thank you so much for your wonderful performance during our cocktail hour. We were able to listen to you play briefly while we were running around taking pictures.

You sounded beautiful, and the guests had many wonderful things to say about your performance! So sorry we did not have a chance to meet, but know that if anyone is looking for a pianist you will be the first one I recommend!

Thanks Again,
Jessica and Daniel Novak
Wedding, Land's End, Sayville, NY, 10/16/05

That classy touch

Thank you so much for playing at our wedding. The music added that classy touch we were looking for … just about everyone complimented us on our choice. It was also a pleasure working with someone of your experience level. I would definitely recommend you to anyone looking for a great pianist.

Thanks Again!
Fred and Carin Frisco
Wedding, The River Cafe, Brooklyn, NY, 10/01/05

Many compliments

You did a great job during the ceremony and my guests gave many compliments on your cocktail hour performance. Thanks for doing such a great job!

Kai-May and Raymond
Wedding, Chateau Briand, Carle Place, NY, 03/26/05

Great renditions

Thanks again for the performance! With savvy and a well-honed technique, Jerry Engelbach and his music transformed a good party into a great one. His unique jazz style — upbeat, with lush harmonies and interesting progressions — adapted beautifully to pop and show standards as well as his great renditions of the jazz and swing classics. Great music. Great variety. Great party.

Kim Jenkins, Quigley Company, Inc.
Corporate Party, New York, NY, 09/22/04